Welcome Kathryn Robson

Today I want to welcome fellow Rebel Kathryn Robson to my blog. BTW ❤ the name!!!!

 

Playing Twenty Questions with Kathryn Robson

.

Which comes first, the story, the characters or the setting?

100% the characters Amy and Daniel came first.

Are you in control of your characters or do they control you?

That is actually quite a difficult question, through the course of a book you evolve your people to have their own characteristics, so that if you throw them into a situation, and want them to act a certain way for a certain outcome, it may not coincide inline with their persona, as they would never do such a thing. So I suppose, I control them at the beginning and then the story evolves through them, if that makes any sense at all.

How do you come up with the titles to your books?

Isn’t that almost the most fun part? Like naming a pet!

Golden actually started out being called ‘Full Circle’ but when I had finished, it was so different from what I had set it out to be, the title changed itself.

What did you want to be when you grew up?

First a vet, then a nurse. What I actually did was manage a Mcdonalds, then opened a clothes shop, now I have two and a new one in the making. But deep down I still wish I had gone down the nursing path, or maybe paramedic. And now I wish I could throw it all in and write stories all day!

Are you working on anything at the present you’d like to share with us?

I really want to start writing on my second book, out of lack of time it is all only mapped out in my head.

Do you have any strange handwriting habits, like capitalizing all your “r”s or dotting your “I”s with heart (or anything like that)?

I sometimes write with my pen between my middle and my index finger when I need to write fast.

You can erase any horrible experience from your past. What will it be?

Choosing to accompany my son on the Manta at Seaworld – worst decision ever! Most terrifying thing I ever did.

When you looked in the mirror this morning, what was the first thing you thought?

I need more sleep!

What were you doing at midnight last night?

Reading Lee Child.

What’s the strangest thing you’ve ever eaten?

Snails. Oh, and fermented duck egg. Don’t try it, just don’t!

What do you want to know about the future?

I like to make plans for the future, in all aspects, even down to what color I am going to paint the kitchen next year, but I would not want to know anything.

What’s your heritage? English, German, Irish etc…

I was born in Scotland by Scottish parents with a hint of Irish on my mothers side. I lived in America for 6 years, grew up in Germany speaking fluent German, now I live in Wales learning Welsh.

Deep down I still feel 100% Scottish, strange huh?

What is your favorite pizza?

Mushroom, onion and pesto.

What’s one thing scientists should invent?

Teleportation! I hate traveling in all and every form, train being the least tiresome.

What do you do to relax and recharge your batteries?

Put my muck-boots on and go up the mountain to play with the horses for a few hours or take the dogs for a walk along the beach.

Have you always wanted to be a writer?

No it was an accident, I never thought it would be so much fun, I could sit and write all day everyday now.

If you weren’t writing, what would you be doing?

What I am doing now. We have just signed the lease on a high street clothes shop and are in the planning stages of interior design, signage and shop logo – so exciting!

Fill in the blank favorites (two word max!) – Dessert. City. Season. Type of hero. Type of heroine.

Dessert: Fruit salad, City: Edinburgh, Season: Summer, Hero: My hero wears dog tags or badge, Heroine: She is real, strong but with flaws that make her human, not some

perfect version of a modern day superhero, she sort of stumbles through everything, meaning well and trying her best.

Tell us about your current title.

I can’t write too much without spoiling the book. It is a Supernatural Fiction, with a good healthy romance embedded in it.

Golden see’s Amy escaping her abusive stepfather and making a new life for herself in a big city. Finally she is surrounded by friends and feels safe for the first time in her life, but her past is not done with her, her stepfather hunts her down and now she not only has herself to worry about as she is not his main target!

About Katie.Gallagher

I'm a wife, mother to two fur babies and one beautiful little girl, and a YA author with Rebel Ink Publishing . I love coffee, flip flops and hate cold weather!
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

